Capture What Counts Photography

#6/52 Work

I wanted to take a moment and ask a favor of all of you.  The maternity shoot from last week is one of my dearest friends on this earth.  And her baby boy is going to arrive this Thursday.  He has been diagnosed (in-utero) with a congenital heart defect and will have to undergo open heart surgery shortly after his birth.  If you’re the praying kind, could you please send some up on Thursday for Baby Hanson and his parents?  If you don’t do prayer, please send some good mojo for them!  Thank you, we appreciate it very much!

Now for this week’s post.  I had the pleasure of photographing another sweet baby boy who recently entered the world.  I have to say that I gained a whole new level of respect for photographers who photograph newborn babies.  I did research and searched the internet for ideas, and yet it was much harder than I thought it would be.  I have to say a special thank you to my “assistants” Macy and Caity, and to his mommy, April.  I couldn’t have done this without them.

Even though this photo shoot was more difficult than I imagined, it still didn’t seem like “work.”  Meet Baby Owen.  :)

20 responses

  1. Adorable!! Great pic Bonnie!

    And I am sending tons of mojo to Baby Hanson! ALl the best!

    February 12, 2012 at 12:58 PM

    • Thank you so much Craig, much appreciated.

      February 13, 2012 at 7:49 AM

  2. Tammy

    You have done a fantastic job…I am in love w/ all of baby Owen’s pics! Hardly can wait to see baby Hanson’s pics! My prayers have been with Hansen and his family and I will continue to keep them in my thoughts and prayers. You hang in there, and take tons of pictures! :)

    February 12, 2012 at 1:08 PM

    • Thank you my dear. Not sure on the timing of Hanson’s pics but will definitely post when able. Love ya!

      February 13, 2012 at 7:50 AM

  3. Great image you captured….I will send Mojo

    February 12, 2012 at 2:10 PM

    • Thank you Steve, and thanks for the mojo. :)

      February 13, 2012 at 7:51 AM

  4. Fantastic baby portrait . . . my prayers are and will be sent.

    February 12, 2012 at 6:05 PM

    • Thank you John and Lois! Much appreciated.

      February 13, 2012 at 7:51 AM

  5. Incredible portrait! Can you imagine doing this everyday!

    February 12, 2012 at 7:26 PM

    • Thank you, and yes…I can! It’s a dream.

      February 13, 2012 at 7:52 AM

  6. I belong to a women’s Bible study group. we meet on Tuesdays. We will certainly be praying for Baby Hanson. I trust that some day, he will look every bit as handsome little Owen. That is a gorgeous photo of the little dude, one I’m sure his parents will treasure.

    February 12, 2012 at 10:57 PM

    • Thank you so much for your kind words Bobbie, and for the prayers. I appreciate it so much! Thank you!

      February 13, 2012 at 7:52 AM

  7. First prayer is said and more to follow! Be hopeful with this – my cousin Abbigail went through this very same thing with her son, Nicholas. It has been quite a few years now and he is thriving. If your friend would like to talk to someone who has been through it all, I can get her contact info for Abb.

    February 13, 2012 at 12:22 AM

    • Thank you Cyndi. I greatly appreciate the information and offer. If you would like to email Abbigail’s information to me, I will hold onto it in case Kim wants it. (bonniegunkel@gmail.com) Thank you.

      February 13, 2012 at 7:54 AM

  8. Such a beauitful photo.. You did a wonderful job hon.
    I will keep them in my prayers

    February 13, 2012 at 11:11 AM

  9. Prayers for the family, the surgeon performing the procedure, and for you the supportive friend will be said.

    Baby Owen’s picture is just beautiful! Love the beautiful skin tones!

    February 14, 2012 at 10:13 AM

    • Thank you very much, I appreciate your comments and thoughts and prayers. And thank you for visiting my blog!

      February 14, 2012 at 7:56 PM

  10. lyur

    mojo from me and mojo friends, prayers as well. Beautiful photo.

    February 17, 2012 at 9:31 AM

  11. Oh Bonnie, this is lovely. You’d never know it was hard to pull off. I too admire people who photograph babies and toddlers.

    I hope your friend’s baby is OK.

    February 17, 2012 at 10:46 AM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,270 other followers