Capture What Counts Photography

Day 1 – Lady Buddha

I guess I should begin by saying that I am the most amateur of photographers.  I tend to be very shaky when I take a photo so I’m not sure how this blog is going to turn out, or if any visitors will even bother returning.  But I hope so, because I have some awesome mentors who are helping me along my way.  I do not have PhotoShop either, so what you see is what you get.  Hopefully as I improve over time, I will be more comfortable with adding upgrades.  For now, I’ll just be happy to get some great photos.

Recently, we visited the Krohn Conservatory in Cincinnati for the Annual Butterfly Show.  And while I absolutely adore butterflies, the grounds and gardens at the Conservatory are absolutely beautiful.  When we finally made it to the “butterfly room,” I fell in love with the blooming flowers  and garden scenery.  The first thing that really caught my eye was this amazing fountain/statue.  I love the sound of trickling water, and that matched with her pose made me feel so peaceful and calm, I just wanted to stand there in her presence for a long time.  I really wish I had one of these for myself.  I might never leave the front yard.  🙂

4 responses

  1. YAY! Your first post 🙂 I love this shot, it is very pretty and I don’t even remember this?!?! I am so glad you started this and you know I am going to be on you every day about it LOL!

    June 10, 2010 at 1:35 PM

  2. Bonnie Gunkel

    LOL it was around the corner from the place that lady wouldn’t let you get to when you were trying to get butterfly photos. 🙂

    And yes, I know you’ll be on me about it. And rest assured, I’ll be asking you lots of questions! 🙂

    June 11, 2010 at 4:45 PM

  3. Laura

    Congratulations on your first post for your blog. The first one is the hardest, for sure–putting yourself out there and hoping for the best. I think this is a lovely shot. I also missed this statue, so when I go back, I’ll be looking for it!

    As for photo-editing software, you don’t need to spend a fortune for Photoshop. Photoshop Elements is typically what I use, and it typically costs less than $100. That being said, this photo is excellent on its own, so maybe you don’t even need Elements 😉

    June 15, 2010 at 11:42 AM

  4. A great first shot to post…I am having fun seeing everyone’s first shots!

    January 25, 2013 at 7:39 PM

Leave a Reply

