Capture What Counts Photography

Day 2 – Cincinnati Bengals Night of Champions

So day two of my blog found me carrying the camera around with me all day, just waiting to take pictures.  I am hoping with practice, and as I get more used to this, I will begin to “see” things differently.  Yesterday, I feel like I did not see anything that would be interesting enough to photograph.  What to do, what to do?  I really want to find a photo…

Well, last night at our church, we had a special service called “Night of Champions” with some of the players from the Cincinnati Bengals.  The video of it will be up on Monday, so I will come back and post the link if anyone is interested.  Several of the players took time out of their schedule to come and give their testimonies, and encourage and lift up the congregation.  It was a great night, and I’ve heard that over 1,400 people were in attendance.  With all the bad press the Cincinnati Bengals get, it was refreshing to hear these men talk about their love of God, and their love of football.  The players involved were Reggie Kelly, Andrew Whitworth, Nate Livings, Chase Coffman, Clinton McDonald, Freddie Brown and Morgan Trent.

Although this was in no way what I would have imagined my blog post being for the day, I decided to use some of the photos from last night as I do love me some Bengals football.  Who Dey!

For the group photo below, I have to give credit to my husband, Rob.  I couldn’t get the right angle from my seat, and since he’s used to shooting photos above his head at concerts all the time, I asked him to do the honors.  But I did take the rest.  🙂


Some of the Cincinnati Bengals

Morgan Trent, Cornerback

Clinton McDonald, Defensive Tackle

Reggie Kelly, Tight End

2 responses

  1. Laura

    Sometimes photography is about capturing an image. Sometimes it’s about telling a story. And sometimes it’s about capturing an event. Not every photo has to be momentous. You captured the event very nicely.

    Are you from the Cincinnati area? I live in Forest Park…

    June 15, 2010 at 11:50 AM

    • Yes Laura, we live just across the river in Elsmere (close to Florence.)

      June 21, 2010 at 7:27 AM

Leave a Reply

