Capture What Counts Photography

Day 3 – Stop and Smell the Lilies

Today’s post is bitter sweet for me.  For the sweet:  I have been waiting all season for my daylilies to start blooming.  They are so beautiful when they bloom, but each bloom only lasts for one day.  Then it’s gone forever.  Well, thanks to the incredible amount of rain we have had the past two days, my first daylily bloomed this morning.  This particular species is called “American Revolution.”  And while I am very happy that my lilies have begun to bloom, when I saw it this morning, I was reminded that tomorrow, this bloom will be gone.  So I am enjoying it while it’s here.

This brings me to the bitter part of my post.  My friend Amy’s husband Darin, died yesterday of a sudden massive heart attack.  He was only about 45 years old.  He left behind his wonderful wife and two daughters, Kelly and Jessica, both in their early twenties.  I am still in shock about this, and cannot even begin to fathom the grief and sadness and pain that Amy and the girls are going through right now.  Seeing this lily this morning, is yet another reminder of  just how precious life is.  Just like this lily, a person can be here today and gone tomorrow, and you never know when it will happen.

So remember to tell your friends and loved ones how you feel about them.  Never take them for granted.  Life is way too short for petty stuff…love freely and love much.  And don’t forget to take time to smell the roses…or in this case, the lilies.  Rest in peace, Darin.

American Revolution Daylily

Daylily

4 responses

  1. Tracy

    That is such a beautiful sentiment Bonnie. I am so sorry to hear about your friends husband. You are so right~ life is precious and shouldn’t be taken for granted for what we have now can be gone in an instant. thanks for the reminder! XO

    June 13, 2010 at 3:52 PM

  2. Sorry to hear about your friend Bon, please let her know that our prayers are with her and her family. Such a tragedy. You are so right about life being so precious, I wish it didn’t take things like this to remind us of that.

    June 13, 2010 at 9:57 PM

  3. Wow Bonnie I am so sorry about your friend Amy and her daughters. I hope they are able to find some peace in knowing how many people are thinking and praying for them. Unfortunately it is easy to forget how quickly life passes us by without these tragedies to remind us of the short life we really do have. Your lilies are beautiful and I am happy you were able to photograph them so you will have them to remind you of how beautiful they were tomorrow 🙂

    June 13, 2010 at 10:37 PM

  4. Laura

    I am so sorry for your loss. I will keep your friend and her family in my prayers.

    June 15, 2010 at 11:47 AM

Leave a Reply

