Capture What Counts Photography

Day 4 – Hoosier Boy and Hoosier Girl

Today’s post is in honor of my friend and former professor, Dana Hildebrand.  Dana is a photographer and an artist, and lost her art studio to a huge maple tree during one of the recent weekend storms.  She still is unsure how much of her artwork was damaged, but hopefully all is not lost.

These photos were actually taken back on October 11, 2008, and they were taken by  my daughter Macy, who was 9 years old at the time.  We went to Rising Sun, Indiana to spend the day with Dana and to see the museum that is her home away from home, the Ohio County Historical Society Museum.  Dana painted a huge Ohio river scene that now serves as the backdrop for the Hoosier Boy and the Hoosier Girl boats that are now safely housed at the museum.

I wanted to post these today because Dana played a huge role in my success in college, and also planted the photography seed in my daughter.  And hopefully it will cheer her up just a little bit.  🙂

The flag is the original flag that was on the Hoosier Girl back in the day.

Hoosier Boy

Hoosier Girl

Flag from the Hoosier Girl

5 responses

  1. Wow Bon, great photos. I especially love the flag. It’s weird but sometimes a picture of a flag done right will bring me to tears just because of the symbolism it carries. This, is one of those times. The tattered and torn edges and the discoloration are scars per se of where it has been and tells its own story. Thank you for sharing it 🙂

    June 14, 2010 at 10:42 PM

  2. Bonnie Gunkel

    Thanks Kim! Macy does a great job with photos. And I agree with you about flag photos. They always touch something inside.

    June 15, 2010 at 10:36 AM

  3. Bonnie Gunkel

    LOL…I’m making it my goal to get some great photos that I can claim as my own! 🙂

    June 15, 2010 at 10:37 AM

  4. Laura

    I too like the flag photo. Even though you didn’t take these photos, your selection of them shows you have a good eye for what works. I look forward to more of your photos!

    June 15, 2010 at 11:44 AM

  5. I love the flag photo!! It is always a good thing to nurture a passion in a child and help them grow.

    June 16, 2010 at 10:59 PM

Leave a Reply

