Capture What Counts Photography

Day 6 – Butterflies and Bees

Today Rob and I drove to Columbia, MD (just outside of Baltimore.)  We are here for the M3 music festival on Saturday and decided to take a couple of extra days for some R&R, and also for a little early anniversary celebration.  Along the way, we drove through this place where the mountains had literally been cut so that the expressway could go through.  There was a pedestrian bridge across it (not so affectionately re-named “the scary bridge” by me) and a scenic overlook.  So we decided to stop and check it out.  Well after walking the path up a ginormous hill, we get to the pedestrian bridge that goes over 6 lanes of expressway traffic.  I am not afraid of heights, but in walking across this bridge, I discover that I am suddenly deathly afraid of being over top of traffic that is traveling at 70+ mph.  I finally make it across the bridge by clinging to Rob, who I’m sure still has fingernail prints in his arm.  But the fear was well worth it, because I got what I believe to be amazing shots of some gorgeous flowers and butterflies and bees.  BTW, if anyone knows what kind of flowers these are, I would love to know.

First is the scary bridge.  Next is the cute little flower garden where I found all my treasures.  Finally, the butterfly and bee that kept me occupied for quite some time.  I am so happy with how these photos came out.  I practiced my “rule of thirds” too.  I apologize for there being so many, I just couldn’t decide.  I hope you enjoy.

I have to be on the other side 😦

Bridge over 6 lanes of traffic

Flower Garden

2 responses

  1. I love them all, so glad you posted multiples. The flowers all by themselves are so pretty. Great job!! Have fun on vacation.

    June 17, 2010 at 11:40 PM

  2. Thanks! I also worked on my repetition, I shot some fences and stuff. But I was so excited about these I didn’t even want to post anything else. I’ll get those another day 🙂

    June 18, 2010 at 9:37 AM

Leave a Reply

