Capture What Counts Photography

Day 23 – Red White & Blue Ash Fireworks

After seeing the other amazing fireworks photos that have been posted, I hesitated about posting mine, but decided to anyway.  I did find out that my camera has a fireworks setting on it under the SCN setting.  I noticed that it took between 10 and 12 seconds to process each photo in this setting, which made it really hard to get shots of the fireworks.  But, I did get what I think are some good ones.  I love how the first one looks like it’s 3D.

4 responses

  1. Beautiful. I think the second is my favorite! I love fireworks, they are just so gorgeous to look at and when a bunch go off at once it feels like your chest is rumbling.

    I am glad you posted your shots and I hope you don’t let other photos stop you from posting anything in the future 🙂

    OH and the seconds it took to take the shot is the shutter speed, the camera stays open longer (10 seconds) to capture more light, and you would ideally want to use a tripod in those situations if you have one handy 🙂

    July 5, 2010 at 10:19 AM

    • Thanks for the encouragement Mindy. And thank you for the information on the shutter speed…I was wondering what was going on with it taking so long for each photo!

      July 6, 2010 at 9:57 AM

  2. Laura

    Sheesh! I should have gone to Red, White, and Blue Ash for the fireworks show if your photos are any indication. So dramatic! Great work!

    And I’m with Mindy–don’t let others keep you from posting your photos. Everyone takes photos from their point of view and you should definitely share yours!

    July 5, 2010 at 11:34 PM

    • Thank you for the encouragement Laura. I am really having a lot of fun doing this, I guess I’m just easily intimidated by the great photos you and Mindy (and others) are posting. Hopefully, I will get there in time!

      July 6, 2010 at 9:55 AM

Leave a Reply

