Capture What Counts Photography

Day 53 – Train Tracks

Since starting this photo blog, I have become obsessed with train tracks.  I have several train trestles close to my house and I have been strategizing about what time of day would be best to take photos at them.  This morning, I feel like I missed the photo opportunity of a lifetime.  It was the perfect storm…early morning, foggy, and a train was slowly coming down the track from far away…the light of the engine glowing in the fog.  Problem is…this trestle is very narrow and there is barely enough room for two cars to pass, much less room for a person to stand there taking photographs.  And there was pretty much non-stop traffic coming from both ways.  I was so bummed.  But I tried to cheer myself up by going to another area of tracks I found and taking a photo of that.  It’s not nearly as cool, and not foggy, and there’s no train coming, but oh well.  Hopefully I will get another opportunity to get my dream photo.


After some feedback from Mindy, I played with this in Picasa and added some shadowing to better accentuate the tracks themselves.  (The contrast option didn’t seem to do anything)  Thanks for the suggestion, Min!  I really like the change!

4 responses

  1. Very cool shot, I don’t know if you can do this or not in that program but I might have upped the contrast a bit just to give the tracks some more definition but I love the leading lines and the bridge in the background!

    August 4, 2010 at 8:26 PM

    • I very much like the second one!!! 😀 What do you think?

      August 4, 2010 at 11:27 PM

  2. Laura

    Good suggestion, Mindy. It’s a well composed shot, but the added contrast/shading really made the tracks pop.

    August 17, 2010 at 9:21 PM

    • Thanks Laura! And yes, I’m glad Mindy suggested that…it made a world of difference!

      August 18, 2010 at 9:30 AM

Leave a Reply

