Capture What Counts Photography

Day 72 – Glass Reflections

Today’s @dailyshoot allowed me to do something I have been playing around with for a couple of weeks.  @dailyshoot:  Make a photograph of something made out of glass. Be sure to go for interesting reflections or highlights.

I recently had the idea to photograph the wine glasses hanging on my wine rack.  I’ve experimented with different angles and arrangements, but haven’t come up with one I was totally happy with.  Today I stacked three of my stemless goblets and photographed down into them.  I think the result is pretty cool.

4 responses

  1. Laura

    That’s outstanding! I love the idea, and a great display of what dailyshoot was suggesting. The circular background (placemat?) really makes the circular pattern of the glasses pop!

    August 22, 2010 at 9:14 PM

    • Thanks Laura! And yes, it is a beaded circular placement. I never even noticed that part! LOL

      August 22, 2010 at 9:24 PM

  2. I agree with everything Laura said. Plus, I think the way the rims of the glasses are slightly blurred gives the picture a feeling of motion!

    I’m learning so much from you guys already! Thanks.

    August 22, 2010 at 9:23 PM

    • Thanks Z! And trust me, you will learn something or be inspired by something every day. That’s why I spend so much time looking at other people’s photos. It’s amazing what you can learn just viewing others’ work.

      August 22, 2010 at 9:25 PM

Leave a Reply

