Capture What Counts Photography

Day 102 – Mums the Word

The more I play with photo editing, the deeper in love I fall.  Today I chose a photo of a mum, because they are a classic “fall” flower.  I played with it in Picnik and decided on the Orton Effect.  I am also researching each style so that I get a better understanding of what they are and how the effect is created.

“The Orton Effect is named after Michael Orton who first used the technique.  It is a sandwich of two images, one in focus the other out of focus, therefore producing a beautiful, impressionistic image.”  I love how this came out!


And here is the original:

3 responses

  1. Amy

    I think the Orton effect makes the flower look more vibrant. The color is deeper and more rich. You a gift my friend :O) Keep at it.

    September 22, 2010 at 8:43 AM

  2. Laura

    Interesting effect. I like both photos, but I honestly think I lean toward the original, strictly because I like the striations on the flower petals. Both are great, though! I’m glad you’re having fun playing.

    September 22, 2010 at 4:23 PM

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Day 102 – Mums the Word « All I've Got is a Photograph… -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

