Capture What Counts Photography

Day 134 – “Wedding Dress” Quilt Barn

Yesterday after we left the Arboretum, Elizabeth and I went to lunch at a place Rob had taken me once called Hall’s On The River in Winchester, KY.  The drive there from Lexington was very pretty…down a winding country road lined with handmade stone walls and beautiful fall foliage.  Along the way, Elizabeth spotted one of my quilt barns, so we made a quick stop so I could take a few photos.  The barn was located in the middle of Lower Howard’s Creek Nature and Heritage Preserve.  There was a big locked gate between me and the quilt barn, so unfortunately there is a gigantic weed growing up in the middle of the quilt square, but you can still appreciate the beauty of it.  I wish I could have run over there and pulled the weed out of the way, but figured the locked gate was there for a reason.  Of course if I had PhotoShop, I’m sure I could just magically get rid of it…ahhh…one day!

This particular quilt square is called “Wedding Dress.”  I am not sure why, as it looks nothing like a wedding dress (nor anything to do with a wedding for that matter) but oh well, they didn’t ask me to name it.  🙂

And here is a close-up of the quilt square.

6 responses

  1. Nice pictures – even with the weed. I saw two more quilt barns on my way home. One was about 3inches past Mile Marker 84. I got off at the next exit and spent about 30 minutes trying to find it (thus my delay in calling you – sorry)…finally determined it was on a private driveway. The other one was just a couple of miles south of that. I guess Berea loves them some quilt barns too 🙂

    October 23, 2010 at 8:45 PM

  2. That will be a project for this winter…I’ll have to get Rob to go on a quilt barn search journey 🙂

    October 23, 2010 at 8:57 PM

  3. I’ve never seen a quilt barn and this is a really cool photo!! Great Work Bonnie!!

    October 24, 2010 at 7:45 PM

    • Thanks Cathy! I am kind of obsessed with them. I discovered them by accident one day and have researched where they are. Unfortunately, there’s not many very close to me. I have to make it a day journey to go look for them. This one, was completely by accident 🙂

      October 24, 2010 at 7:53 PM

  4. Tammy McChesney

    I have a good friend that works for Accuquilt and they are in search of all of the quilt blocks on barns…these are really beautiful!

    October 28, 2010 at 11:11 AM

    • I am totally obsessed with them. They are so amazing.

      October 28, 2010 at 11:46 AM

Leave a Reply

