Capture What Counts Photography

Day 162 – Balluminaria 2010

I have been waiting for today for a long, long time.  Three or four years ago, some friends of ours took us to Balluminaria and I was hooked!  I have wanted to go back ever since, but we always wind up missing the date.  But this year, I looked it up several months ago and marked my calendar so I wouldn’t miss this year’s event.  The hot-air balloons are beautiful themselves, but when you pair that with their reflections in Mirror Lake, it’s just amazing!  Water reflections are some of my favorite photos, so I was very excited for the chance to take some today.  And I am very quickly falling in love with my tripod also.  🙂

“All Glow”

“Smiley” – one of my faves

21 responses

  1. Kim G

    I love these Bonnie! Great work! You’ll never leave home without your tripod…it’s a great investment. I’m a huge fan of hot air balloons too! Wish I could have gone to this event. Maybe next year we can go together.

    November 20, 2010 at 9:40 PM

    • That would be awesome, Kim! I heard several people at the event say that it’s always held the Saturday before Thanksgiving. Easy to plan for that way 🙂

      November 20, 2010 at 9:52 PM

      • Kim G

        Yay! Something else to look forward to! We’ll talk more about it when we see each other in January! 🙂

        November 23, 2010 at 7:22 PM

  2. That first picture is amazing! The colors the reflection, the repetition…its all perfect 🙂 We have Freedom Weekend Aloft here in South Carolina that revolves around hot air balloons…I’ll have to check it out next year 🙂

    November 20, 2010 at 9:43 PM

    • Thanks Kimmy! I have been waiting a long time to take these photos! 🙂

      November 20, 2010 at 9:53 PM

  3. Excellent shots, Bonnie. I went to a balloon festival here last month and didn’t get a single shot. A few of the people I went with had the BIG cameras and your shots are every bit as good.

    Put me on the guest list for next year’s event too. Maybe by then I’ll have the skill to get shots like these.

    November 20, 2010 at 10:01 PM

    • Thanks! And you should have seen all the “big girl” cameras there. But it’s ok, I didn’t let them intimidate me. 🙂 The Saturday before Thanksgiving every year:)

      November 21, 2010 at 9:29 AM

  4. beautiful shot, love the reflection! One of my favorite things 🙂 glad you had fun!!

    November 20, 2010 at 10:47 PM

  5. Wow, This is stunning. Awesome low light photos. Great work.

    November 21, 2010 at 12:39 PM

    • Thank you very much for the comments and for checking out my photos 🙂

      November 21, 2010 at 12:58 PM

    • You are most welcome. Your photographs are inspirational. I love it.

      November 21, 2010 at 6:20 PM

  6. Holy smokes, those are amazing shots!

    November 21, 2010 at 1:30 PM

  7. Tammy McChesney

    Next time take ME! This looks like the coolest event and you captured it perfectly! I LOVE those reflections!

    November 21, 2010 at 3:12 PM

    • Thank you Tammy! Come on down next November! We’ll all go as a crowd!

      November 21, 2010 at 5:50 PM

      • Tammy McChesney

        Sounds fun to me

        November 21, 2010 at 8:29 PM

  8. Wow!! I love it!!! Smiley would be a great framed photo!! That’s amazing! Great job.

    November 21, 2010 at 9:45 PM

  9. Amy

    Beautiful!

    November 22, 2010 at 8:06 AM

Leave a Reply

