Capture What Counts Photography

Day 211 – St. Barbara

Today I had plans to meet my friend Kim Graham in Lexington for some lunch and a photo walk.  Unfortunately, the inclement weather forced us to reschedule our trip.  What’s most disappointing about that is that we’ve been planning this trip for months, and we haven’t seen each other since the 9th grade!  I just love facebook for connecting me with people I lost touch with over the years!  She is an AMAZING photographer…check out her photos here.  I have also added her to my blog roll so we can all keep up with her.

So…since my plans were changed by Mother Nature, I decided it would be a good time to install PhotoShop Elements that my fabulous husband got me for Christmas.  I have been experimenting all day on different photos, but decided to stick with one I had already taken yesterday.  I pass this church every day when I take Macy to school, but have never noticed the statues they have until yesterday.  I don’t know who this one is supposed to be…the church is called St. Barbara, so we’ll go with that.  🙂  I used a little auto contrast and added a watermark signature, because the hubs showed me how.  Nope, I’m not excited about PSE much!



9 responses

  1. Tammy

    Beautiful statue…I love the brown tones in this!

    You will love PSE9 once you figure it out! Head on over to the Village (http://www.photoshopelementsuser.com/)…tons of tutorials and tons of help – we would love for you to join us in the fun! Check out the community…nicest people you will ever meet! 🙂

    January 8, 2011 at 7:50 PM

    • Thanks Tammy! I will check out the Village…thanks for the invite!

      January 9, 2011 at 12:58 PM

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Day 211 – St. Barbara « All I've Got is a Photograph… -- Topsy.com

  3. Beautiful! Love the composition and I am glad you are enjoying photoshop 🙂

    January 9, 2011 at 10:18 PM

  4. Churches are a treasure trove of subjects. This is fantastic.

    January 9, 2011 at 10:22 PM

  5. Christy Bennici

    This is my Chosen saint Saint Barbara
    I was inspired by my mother Barbara.
    I pray to both Barbara’s to protect me.
    This statue is beautiful!

    March 7, 2011 at 11:18 PM

  6. Quinn Densley

    Hi Bonnie,

    Beautiful photograph! Yes, this is definitely St. Barbara. She was a princess, so she is often depicted with a crown. Other symbols I have seen depicted with her are a palm (because she was a martyr), a chalice and host, a sword (she was decapitated by her father for her religious beliefs), and most telling of all, a tower (which is a central element of her story).

    She is one of my favorite saints. Thank you for sharing this BEAUTIFUL picture!

    January 21, 2012 at 6:50 PM

    • Thank you Quinn. And thanks for visiting my blog! 🙂

      January 21, 2012 at 6:54 PM

Leave a Reply

