Capture What Counts Photography

Day 215 – In Honor

OK, call me a follower or a copy cat (it’s OK really…I run with great company) but I love the recent photos that my wonderful photographer friends Mindy and Cathy have been posting, and I wanted to try the process.  Since I am new to PhotoShop Elements, I do not know how to create HDR photos with that yet, but my old reliable Picnik has a function called “HDR-ish.”  So today, I tried it out on a photo I took at Mother of God Cemetery and I am super excited with the results!

I’m curious to see what y’all think about it…criticism/compliments/suggestions are always welcome!  Thanks!

12 responses

  1. It’s a great shot but I’m not a huge fan of the HDR. (Sorry, just my opinion). I’d love to see the SOOC shot, please?

    January 12, 2011 at 7:06 PM

  2. Oh Bonnie…this is Beautiful…it turned out GREAT!! HDR is so much fun and so addictive once you try it…thanks for the mention 🙂 Keep going w/this effect…I Love it!!

    January 12, 2011 at 7:17 PM

    • Thank you so much Cathy! Your comment made my day!

      January 14, 2011 at 5:44 PM

  3. Tammy

    This turned out just magnificent…Love the details the HDR brings out and that glow around the cross! Thanks for the mention of your friend’s blogs…I just looked at them and they are both wonderful!

    January 12, 2011 at 8:27 PM

  4. Very interesting. I am ambivalent about HDR. Some look awesome, some I wonder if it would look better without, some I think that it would look better in b&W.

    January 12, 2011 at 9:33 PM

  5. WOW!

    January 13, 2011 at 10:31 AM

  6. lol copy cat.

    Does the program you are using let you control the amount of detail? I think that might have made the photo even more beautiful with a little less. I get detail happy when doing HDR and then I will look at it the next day and think MAN I wish I had done a little less 🙂

    Beautiful shot!

    January 13, 2011 at 10:31 AM

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Day 215 – In Honor « All I've Got is a Photograph… -- Topsy.com

  8. I don’t typically process my photos, but I may have to try this. Amazing!

    January 16, 2011 at 10:37 PM

    • Thank you Sarah! And thank you for commenting 🙂

      January 19, 2011 at 9:35 AM

  9. Mike

    Bonnie, I hope you get this because I thought I responded to this before but don’t see my post. Anyway, you should download a trial of Photomatix for 30 days and get a hang of the program. It’s free!
    Also, I use the same theme as you and I’m wondering how you got the twitter icon on the sidebar….care to share?

    January 18, 2011 at 2:54 PM

    • Thanks Mike…I will look into that. Let me know if the Twitter button information works 🙂

      January 19, 2011 at 9:30 AM

Leave a Reply

