Capture What Counts Photography

Day 220 – Up the Stairs

I seem to be in a photo rut right now.  It’s cold and snowy and gray and gross here, and I’m having difficulty finding things to photograph (the ones I’m coming up with on my own seem pretty lame.)  So, I fell back on my old reliable, church buildings.  I am open to any suggestions on different photo topics, but in the meantime, I hope you enjoy the different churches, as I see them, around the N KY.

And I apologize ahead of time for the power lines.  I do not know how to get rid of them in PhotoShop, even though I tried several things today.



13 responses

  1. Very pretty church and nice presentation of it. Are the stairs shiny or is that a PSE touch? The lines aren’t distracting at all.

    Sorry you feel in a rut. It’s always more fun to take pictures when you’re excited about them, isn’t it? Hopefully the flowers will bloom again soon and you’ll have something you are delighted about shooting.

    January 17, 2011 at 9:00 PM

  2. Thanks Z. I believe that is some lingering snow on the steps. All I did was add a touch of color boost in Picnik.

    January 18, 2011 at 5:30 AM

  3. Tammy

    I know how you are feeling…the flower show really lifted my spirit (and camera)…something about snow and cold really wrecks the motivation, hang in there!

    Are you using photoshop or photoshop elements? If you are using elements I have a tutorial that will walk you through removing the power lines!

    I love how traditional that church is and how symmetrical it is!

    January 18, 2011 at 9:13 AM

    • Thank you again Tammy for your help and support this week. You’ve made me laugh when I was not wanting to at all. You have been a blessing to me and my blog. 🙂

      January 19, 2011 at 9:34 AM

  4. Very pretty building Bon, love the deep color of the brick.

    January 18, 2011 at 9:39 AM

  5. I feel your pain about being in a rut. Have you tried HDR? It’s a good rut breaker and I use it quite a bit, it helps make plain images a bit more interesting. I also just started playing with macro for my project 365. Macro is great in winter just pick up some flowers fro me the grocery store and shoot away.

    January 18, 2011 at 10:01 AM

    • First of all, thank you Brian for subscribing to my blog! I have recently done a few shots in HDR and I really like it. Trying not to do too much though. And I have used your flower idea as well. Thanks again, and welcome! 🙂

      January 19, 2011 at 9:33 AM

  6. Mike

    Utilizing the spot healing and/or the cloning tool should do the trick in Photoshop. The top line should be relatively easy, the other two will be more tedious but doable.

    January 18, 2011 at 2:48 PM

    • Thank you Mike…I did try the spot healing and got rid of the top one easily, as you said. The cloning tool on the other hand…I’ll have to look into that another day. But thank you so much for the suggestions and help 🙂

      January 19, 2011 at 9:31 AM

  7. Nice shot Bonnie! I know how you feel about being in a rut, it can be frustrating! One suggestion that may (or may not!) help, try picking an odd theme and forcing yourself to shoot just that. Perhaps a particular color, or shape, or using only a particular lens, etc. It sometimes works for me. Good luck shaking it!

    January 18, 2011 at 4:33 PM

    • Thanks Jim. I have noticed your themes…but you are much more disciplined and creative than I. But I may have to try it soon…:)

      January 19, 2011 at 9:30 AM

  8. Sharon

    I’m a member here; great photo. It’s a challenge to get a good shot of the exterior. You should come inside and see our amazing stained glass windows.

    March 22, 2013 at 9:11 AM

Leave a Reply

