Capture What Counts Photography

Day 288 – Bradford Bud

Today I learned a valuable lesson regarding the Canon 60D.  It will appear to be taking photos, even if the memory card is not in it.  And, I found this out the hard way after spending over an hour outside in the cold and wind taking photos.  There are some fabulous tulip trees at my work that have just started to bloom, and I drove back over today to grab some photos.  And I took a bunch.  And some more daffodil photos too.  When I got home, Rob realized the card was sitting here in the memory card reader on the coffee table.  So needless to say…I will always check from now on to make sure the memory card is actually in the camera.  In the Canon’s defense, if you have the screen opened to view your photos, it does let you know that no card is present.  Another thing I discovered after the fact.  LOL!

Oh well, after I recovered from my little temper tantrum, and after I warmed up a little, I ventured out into the backyard and got a few shots of the Bradford pear buds.  I hope to get some more shots as they progress, but we’re supposed to get 2 inches of snow tonight, so not sure how they’ll look after that.

I hope y’all are having a fabulous Saturday, and thank you as always, for visiting!

(Photo is SOOC)

16 responses

  1. Just so you know you can set your camera to not take pictures when no card is present. Just go to your custom functions on the menu and turn off shoot without card. Hope that helps.

    March 26, 2011 at 10:38 PM

    • Awesome! Thanks for the information. We will definitely set the camera to that. I’ll probably still check every time now! LOL

      March 27, 2011 at 9:30 AM

  2. Hi Bonnie,

    Brian is correct. Canon does have that function in the Custom Settings. I always have that set just so that very thing does not happen!

    Great shot!!

    March 27, 2011 at 9:26 AM

  3. Thanks Craig…I’m definitely going to do that. Thanks for the comment on the photo 🙂

    March 27, 2011 at 9:34 AM

  4. I was about to tell you the same thing. Great photo,glad you found out before you went home and were in for the night 🙂

    March 27, 2011 at 10:04 AM

    • Well, I was already home and done. I took my usual camera out back and snapped this one real quick so I’d have a photo for today! 🙂

      March 28, 2011 at 9:12 AM

  5. that is an awesome perspective….good one…I like the blur…

    March 27, 2011 at 2:22 PM

  6. Tammy

    I learned something new from your mistake too…I didn’t even know canon had that function lol

    This is just drop dead gorgeous…none of the trees are budding here yet, but on a positive note, the snow has melted and it is starting to warm up again (70’s by the end of the week)! Thanks for sharing your spring delight!

    March 27, 2011 at 2:48 PM

    • Thank you Tammy! We had snow the day after you, but it came and went quickly. I think there’s more in the forecast later this week. Bleck!

      March 28, 2011 at 9:13 AM

  7. Great DOF on this one… Love the softness… You should put your flowers in a book. They’re gorgeous

    March 28, 2011 at 9:01 AM

    • Oh my goodness D! Thank you so much…you totally just made my day!! 🙂

      March 28, 2011 at 9:14 AM

  8. Oh my goodness I would be pretty peeved too! Good for you getting back out there and recreating the shots. 🙂 This one is fabulous 🙂

    March 28, 2011 at 3:40 PM

  9. I have it set to not take images in my Canon’s for the very same reason, after a photo walk I took turned out…no CF card…have to SO dislike that experience!

    March 29, 2011 at 9:17 AM

  10. Shame about the camera trouble
    this is a gorgeous photo

    March 30, 2011 at 9:04 PM

Leave a Reply

