Capture What Counts Photography

Day 298 – I’ve Been There!

Thank you for all the great comments and feedback on the Cincinnati posts!

This is actually a photo of the Mt. Adams area of Cincinnati, taken from the Purple People Bridge.  The church, well it’s just amazing.  Look at that shining cross atop the steeple!  And that cool white house, the one with the round thing…yeah, I’ve been in that house.  Back in 1998 I worked for the Cincinnati Art Museum, and we had a showcase of homes (I can’t remember what fru-fru name they actually gave the event) and I was stationed at that house.  I was basically a greeter outside the door, directing the museum members to the front door when they got off the shuttle bus.  The man who owned the house used to work for Kenner Toys, and he was amazingly nice to me.  I was about 5 months pregnant and it was in the 90’s that day.  Even though my boss told me I was not allowed to sit down while I was working, he brought me out a bar stool and a glass of ice water.  Pretty cool of him, eh?

(Photo is SOOC)

13 responses

  1. Hi Bonnie, great picutre. The white house looks amazing. You are living in an great area….The statue on top of the church looks cool as well.

    April 6, 2011 at 1:26 AM

    • Thanks Schleefy! I think it’s pretty cool around here 🙂

      April 7, 2011 at 12:48 PM

  2. Amy

    He is right – we do live in a great area. I never really appreciated some of our beauty around here until I saw it through your eyes. Thank you Miss Bonnie!

    April 6, 2011 at 8:03 AM

  3. Great shot Bonnie! Several vertical layers of interest with the house, then the church, then the statue.

    April 6, 2011 at 8:42 AM

  4. Tammy

    How I would love to get inside that house…looks really interesting! I love how the church sits high and mighty on the hill with that cross sparkling in the bright blue sky, how appropriate!

    April 6, 2011 at 9:41 AM

    • Thanks Tammy! I remember getting a tour of the house myself, but I don’t really remember anything about it. I blame it on the heat that day 🙂

      April 7, 2011 at 12:50 PM

  5. Very nice shot. I like the geometric shapes in this composition.

    April 6, 2011 at 7:52 PM

  6. Great contrast in the architectural styles. I haven’t been to Cinci in years. I’d forgotten how hilly it is. At first I thought that shot might have been taken in San Fran. 🙂 Very nice.

    April 6, 2011 at 10:39 PM

  7. Thanks Lisa! Let me know if you ever come back this way!

    April 7, 2011 at 12:50 PM

  8. Fascinating juxtaposition of architectural styles!

    April 11, 2011 at 7:37 PM

Leave a Reply

