Capture What Counts Photography

Day 313 – I Hear the Train a Comin’

As much as I want to post another flower photo today, I’m going to do something different.  🙂

We had some hellacious storms roll through the N KY last night.  Thankfully we did not have any damage here, but a town very close to us had some severe damage.  When I got to work this morning, we had no electricity.  We sat around until 11:30 when my boss told my department we could go home.

I drove around looking for something to photograph, and decided to stop at the Erlanger Depot to see what was going on there.  I have no idea what the correct railroad lingo is, (I learned a lot about trains from watching “Unstoppable,” but apparently my brain did not retain any of it) but there was an engine that was pushing several cars down the track a few hundred feet and then pulling them back to where he started.  I was quite amused with this because to an “outsider,” it appeared that the engineer just couldn’t make up his mind what he wanted to do.  So I watched that for a few minutes and was just about to leave when I heard a train whistle in the distance.  Why yes, Folsom Prison Blues did start playing in my head.  How’d you know?  🙂

14 responses

  1. That was a great movie!

    😉 Nice shot Bonnie!

    April 20, 2011 at 8:35 PM

  2. Cool train. You know that I like rail tracks and trains…..
    It looks a bit like a tilt shift photo. If you put blur into the bottom part of the photo and increase it on upper part it will look like a miniature train….

    Good work….

    April 21, 2011 at 6:32 AM

    • Thanks Schleefy. I’ve never heard of a tilt shift photo…I’ll have to look into that!

      April 24, 2011 at 8:17 PM

  3. Amy

    That is a very attractive train – I am being dead serious.

    April 21, 2011 at 8:00 AM

  4. Very nice shot Bonnie… Such interesting things around where you are.

    April 21, 2011 at 11:50 AM

  5. This is cool! Love the old train. I’m glad to hear you didn’t have any damage where you are!

    April 21, 2011 at 1:31 PM

  6. Tammy

    As I am looking at this I am hearing Johnny Cash lol Fabulous take…I agree w/ schleefy about the tilt shift look…very cool! I love the background of houses..you don’t see that very often!

    April 21, 2011 at 1:59 PM

    • Thanks Tammy! There are lots of houses close to the tracks here…I can’t imagine how they do that!

      April 24, 2011 at 8:19 PM

  7. I love trains.

    Seriously envy how close you are to 365! I’m only at 178, and even 200 seems so far off.

    April 21, 2011 at 3:36 PM

    • Aww, thanks Ms. Pearl. I feel like I’m just hitting my stride, so I don’t think I’ll be going anywhere anytime soon. 🙂

      April 24, 2011 at 8:20 PM

Leave a Reply

