Capture What Counts Photography

Day 355 – Daddy’s 80th

Today would have been my Daddy’s 80th birthday.  Yes…he had me a little late in life.  🙂

I still miss him so much it hurts, but today was about celebrating his life, and all the great memories I have of him.  This is the last photo we had taken together, Thanksgiving 2006.  It is overexposed to the point that you can hardly make out our features.  The sun was in the wrong place, it was taken with a cheap digital camera, just many things going against it.  My friend Tammy did some editing on it for me, and then I tried some on top of hers.  How I wish we could have a do-over.

It is what it is, but it’s our last photo, and it’s framed and sits beside his flag.

8 responses

  1. It is still a wonderful photograph and memory! Don’t worry about the technical stuff!

    Losing a parent is never easy but yet we learn to live with it and go on. Thank goodness for photography and the wonderful memories it gives us!

    He will live in your memory forever Bonnie! And you will always be able to smile every time you think of him!

    hugsss

    June 1, 2011 at 7:33 PM

  2. Bonnie,
    It is nice to have pictures of our dads isn’t it. I bet his spirit lives on as mine does for me! One of the things we used to enjoy together is painting and now I have his paintings on my walls.

    Please smile and remember the good times together next time you look at the pictures you have of him!

    I also have many photos and digital art as well which to me is really great!

    Thanks for sharing!

    June 1, 2011 at 7:38 PM

    • Thank you for finding my blog, and for your sweet comments.

      June 5, 2011 at 6:58 PM

  3. What a beautiful photo of the two of you Bonnie. It brings tears to my eyes.

    June 1, 2011 at 10:09 PM

  4. This is the sweetest post. I’m sorry for your loss but I’m glad that you’re also able to celebrate his life. I think it’s a beautiful picture!

    June 1, 2011 at 11:02 PM

  5. I think it’s wonderful Bonnie, really.

    June 2, 2011 at 12:52 AM

  6. it is really a wonderful photo and memory…

    June 2, 2011 at 7:52 AM

  7. Amy

    He looks like he was a really sweet, good man. :O) You did great yesterday – I love you lady!

    June 2, 2011 at 8:14 AM

Leave a Reply

