Capture What Counts Photography

Obsession

I get obsessed about things.  Random things.  Not random things.  Just things.  These obsessions can change from time to time.  Sometimes from day to day, or minute to minute.  Just depends on the obsession.  For example, I’m always obsessed with vanilla cake with vanilla icing.  Ooh, and black currant iced tea.

Right now I’m obsessed with round hay bales.  Yes, round hay bales.  I think they’re adorable…so much more classy than just a regular square bale, right?  I think so too.   They’re popping up all over the place right now, as it is the season to be cutting hay.  I have been waiting for this since this time LAST year!!!  Last summer, I came across some round bales in a field and snapped a few shots.  When I got home and looked at them on the computer, I wished I had taken like a gazillion more.  The “perfect” round bale photo began to form inside my head.  Gently rolling hills, lush green grass, round bales laying strategically about…yeah, I’m still searching for my perfect photo…but this at least has calmed the screaming beast for the moment.  But I’m pretty sure that my obsession with round bales continues.

Oh, and I’m also currently obsessed with Queen Anne’s Lace.  Yes, I know it’s a weed.  But isn’t it the prettiest weed ever?  I think so too.  But more about that later.  🙂

17 responses

  1. Laura

    I love both hay bales and Queen Ann’s Lace. Sadly, I’ve been too busy to photograph either. Lovely shot!

    June 30, 2011 at 9:55 PM

  2. Macy

    You are too funny mom. I’m pretty sure you are the only person obsessed with round bales. Just sayin.

    June 30, 2011 at 10:04 PM

    • Thanks for the love my dear daughter 🙂

      July 2, 2011 at 8:17 PM

  3. Nice shot…

    And, I can certainly relate to being obsessed. Mine change often, and often without reason. In my photography, I went through a tree obsession (in the winter, as the shapes were interesting), and I went through an obsession with single leaves lying on the ground. It doesn’t just invade my photography either … I’m just as bad in my ‘real’ life… I went through a notebook obsession one year, as the stores were clearing out their Back-To-School stuff. I ended up with over 100 notebooks. But they were all like five-cents each, so it wasn’t an expensive obsession. 🙂

    Here’s to obsessions!

    June 30, 2011 at 11:32 PM

    • Thank you John! It’s amazing the things we find interesting. My daughter is a big office supply freak…pens, pencils, notebooks – she’s definitely obsessed! Thanks for the encouragement. I haven’t had time to check out much of your blog yet…but now I’m even more interested. 🙂

      July 2, 2011 at 8:17 PM

  4. Interesting that you are obsessed with round bales – and like your area Bonnie, haying has begun up here in Ontario as well – We have different sizes of bales, and I think the big ones make super photographs… the ones you’ve taken golden against the green trees are simply lovely…well done and hear’s to obsessions, they can be so much fun!

    July 1, 2011 at 8:08 AM

  5. Beautiful shot…
    WOW never pictured you as the round bale type of gal, but hey, you never know… hehehe.. I love your line “the perfect round bale”…

    July 1, 2011 at 9:40 AM

    • LOL I am just full of surprised Pix! 🙂

      July 2, 2011 at 8:14 PM

  6. Tammy

    We have tons of those fields around and I have tons of pics lol I love how peaceful and serene these fields w/ the round bales are and you captured those emotions perfectly! Don’t worry, I have weird obsessions too, but not as weird as yours lol Love Macy’s comment!

    July 1, 2011 at 7:44 PM

    • LMAO thanks for the support Tammy. You and Macy are on the same team 🙂

      July 2, 2011 at 8:14 PM

  7. Ahahaha, when they place the white plastic around them my daughters always yell out “Gigantor Marshmallows!! 😀 Gotta love kidlets.

    July 5, 2011 at 10:47 PM

    • LOL David…I don’t like them when they’re wrapped up like that. But she’s right! They do look like giant marshmallows 🙂

      July 6, 2011 at 6:55 PM

  8. Amy

    You crack me up!

    July 7, 2011 at 8:11 AM

  9. My two boys love to climb on them…..nice shot

    July 14, 2011 at 1:43 AM

  10. Pingback: #27/52 – Quests « All I've Got is a Photograph…

Leave a Reply

