Capture What Counts Photography

Geode

A few weekends ago, we visited my dear friend Kim and her husband Randy, and they took us to Lake Cumberland in southern KY.  Kim was showing us around some points of interest when she asked us if we’d ever seen geodes.  Of course we were like “what?”  So she took us to one of the boat ramps and we commenced to searching for these amazing rocks.  We found 7 that we brought home and I couldn’t wait to get the hammer out and see what was waiting inside them!  Among them, we found this beauty!  SOOC.

The kind of geodes found here in KY contain quartz crystals.  There are geodes that contain amethyst in other parts of the country.  Amethyst is my birthstone, and I’d really love to have one of THOSE geodes.  In case you find one somewhere.  Just sayin’.  🙂


8 responses

  1. Oh my goodness, what a beautiful find! You must have been so excited to crack open that rock.

    September 2, 2011 at 12:12 AM

    • I was Amber! Kim showed me some of the ones she had found and I was super excited. I had to make myself wait until I got home so Macy could do it with me. 🙂

      September 2, 2011 at 9:07 AM

  2. Mike

    Hint, hint….. Nice on the black background too!

    September 2, 2011 at 8:58 AM

    • My hint wasn’t too obvious, was it? 🙂

      September 2, 2011 at 9:07 AM

  3. Tammy

    lol Bonnie…your Amethyst is in the mail! Yea, right! I’d be keeping it for myself! 🙂

    Beautiful details against that stark black background…I would be happy w/ this rock too. 🙂

    September 2, 2011 at 10:18 AM

  4. What a beautiful shot. Great “product” photograpy.. looks great on the black.

    September 2, 2011 at 11:45 AM

    • Thanks Pix! I’m thinking black backgrounds for my other “product” shoots too. 🙂

      September 3, 2011 at 5:04 PM

Leave a Reply

