Capture What Counts Photography

I Have a Teenager?

Thirteen years ago yesterday, God blessed me with the most wonderful miracle, my amazing daughter, Macy.  I dreamed of her most of my life, had her name picked out when I was 17, and had the majority of her Winnie the Pooh nursery decorations bought and stored in a hope chest by the time I was 20.   I guess deep down in my heart I knew that I would someday have a little girl, and thankfully, God believed in me enough to entrust me with raising and caring for one of his children.

Yesterday for her 13th birthday, we took her and her three closest friends to the salon for make-up and manicures.  The girls had a blast and the ladies at Salon OBSESSION gave us all the rock star treatment.  Then we took them for pizza and surprised her with the awesome cake she’d been dreaming about for months.  Zebra stripes and a neon pink bow.

Macy’s dad and I have been divorced since 2002, and yesterday was the first time since then that we have done a “joint venture” for any event in her life.  Many, many thanks to his girlfriend Nancy for not only becoming a friend to me, but for helping me plan and execute the party yesterday.  Having the four adults that care for her, provide for her and love her the most in the world…in the same room, at the same table, sharing food and conversation…was one of the most amazing blessings that I have ever experienced.  Just goes to show that time heals all wounds, and that the love for a child can bridge wide-open spaces.

Thank you to all who participated in Macy’s event yesterday.  It was PERFECT!

21 responses

  1. That cake sure looks tasty. Tell her Happy Birthday, for me. 🙂

    December 11, 2011 at 4:35 PM

    • Thank you Bob, and Macy said thank you too 🙂

      December 14, 2011 at 7:53 PM

  2. Happy Birthday to Macy!! A truly wonderful story at a wonderful time of year!!

    December 11, 2011 at 5:00 PM

  3. Soooo Glad everything turned out perfect for her Big Day!! Sad I missed it. Hope you guys all enjoyed the day. Happy Birthday Macy!!

    December 11, 2011 at 5:05 PM

  4. Happy birthday to your daughter! Sounds like a great party and the cake is to die for! Great job, mom!

    December 11, 2011 at 6:37 PM

  5. I think Macy is prettier than the cake. Happy Birthday Macy, wish I could have celebrated with you, looks like a yummy cake, I share your Birthday by a day. 🙂

    December 11, 2011 at 8:41 PM

    • Aww, thanks Martina…and Happy Birthday to you too!

      December 14, 2011 at 7:52 PM

  6. Beautiful Story…..and it sounds like a great day

    December 11, 2011 at 11:37 PM

  7. Amy

    Aww – Bonnie that was beautiful! And the cake turned out amazing!! I am glad everything went so well :O)

    December 12, 2011 at 8:03 AM

  8. Aww, Happy Birthday to your teenager!! Time goes by much too fast, doesn’t it? Two of mine have already outgrown their teenage years, and my “baby” will be a teen in less than 5 years.
    It sounds like it was the perfect day for everyone 🙂

    December 12, 2011 at 12:08 PM

    • Thanks Michaela…you are very right about time going by much too fast. We don’t believe that when we’re young. 🙂

      December 14, 2011 at 7:51 PM

  9. Oh, Happy Birthday to your daughter! And kudos to you for pulling off a great celebration, Bonnie. That cake is to die for too!

    December 12, 2011 at 9:16 PM

  10. Happy Birthday Macy!!!
    Gorgeous Cake and beautifully captured by you..
    It is a wonderful thing when we as adults can put aside our differences for the kids. We’ve been in situations like this and in the end, you realise just how happy your children are.

    December 13, 2011 at 10:39 AM

    • Thank you Pix! It was definitely a day to remember…for several reasons.

      December 14, 2011 at 7:50 PM

  11. I kinda want that cake! Is there any left?

    December 14, 2011 at 5:23 PM

Leave a Reply

