Capture What Counts Photography

#10/52 – Light

Hey Everyone!  First I want to thank everyone for the prayers, thoughts and wishes after my accident.  I have been released by my surgeon…I have about 85% movement in my big toe, and about 95% movement in my ankle.  The tendons are still healing internally, so hopefully it will still get a little bit better.  But even if not, I am thankful for the progress I have made.  I can walk normally most of the time.  I do limp some when I’ve been standing or walking for a long time.  And it still swells most days (doctor said I could expect that for months.) The demon knives have been returned to their maker, and I am very aware of where ANY utensil is now when I’m cooking.  And because I’ve not been able to just hang out barefoot during all of this, I have shoes on most of the time when I’m cooking.  🙂

I’m not sure if I’ll pick back up with the Project 52, or just post randomly.  Catching up at this point is going to be pretty difficult, but I have missed taking photos and connecting with all of you!

So…back on topic for this post at least…this is from a maternity shoot I did in late April.  These are some very dear friends of mine, and I am so lucky to be part of this miracle!  Little baby Shiloh arrived the day before my accident, so at least I got to see her.  I missed her newborn portraits, but we’re back on schedule and will be doing her 3 month photos soon!

I love the light in this photo!  And don’t even get me started about the look on Dad’s face…

Davina Maternity-2

11 responses

  1. Amy

    Beautiful. Josh looks so at peace. So different from his usual bubbly excited expression. :O)

    August 9, 2013 at 7:49 AM

  2. Beautiful!

    August 9, 2013 at 10:45 AM

  3. I love the emotion captured, so well.

    August 9, 2013 at 3:44 PM

  4. marlo

    A very life changing moment.Well Captured.The light gives lends to the aura.

    August 9, 2013 at 7:28 PM

  5. I am glad you’re healing well. That is truly one of the best “expecting” photos I have ever seen.

    August 9, 2013 at 10:27 PM

  6. Good to learn of your progress healing always takes longer than our patience cares to wait! Love this maternity shot.

    August 10, 2013 at 1:30 PM

  7. Good to hear that you’re up and around again 🙂 How is Sophie taking your new mobility?

    August 11, 2013 at 2:40 PM

    • Thank you Karen. Sophie doesn’t seem to miss our daily snuggles too much…she’s quite busy all day digging up houseplants, shredding toilet paper, and climbing our ficus tree in the foyer. Very rarely will she snuggle with me anymore, so I treasure it when she does. 🙂

      August 12, 2013 at 12:57 PM

  8. Thank you everyone for your thoughts and comments!

    August 12, 2013 at 12:58 PM

  9. So glad to hear you’re on the mend! I had foot surgery seven years ago and it took a long time for the swelling to go away. I couldn’t wear regular shoes for months. Because of you, I now grip my sharp knives very tightly when I walk around the kitchen.
    Lovely shot, Bonnie.

    August 20, 2013 at 5:52 PM

  10. Glad you are recovering from your accident. That picture is a beauty – I love it.

    September 8, 2013 at 4:16 PM

Leave a Reply

