Capture What Counts Photography

Day 232 – Finally! Red Doors!

Today, I had a mommy-daughter day with Macy.  We went on a photo excursion, had some Indian food, and then went to see Secretariat.  (Which by the way, was one of the best movies I have ever seen!)

During our excursion, I finally found a church with red doors!  My friend Mindy has some amazing churches near her, and many of them have red doors.  So I have been on the hunt for red doors here for quite some time.  What’s the deal with red doors?  Well, historically the red doors of a church were a symbol of sanctuary – a place where a soldier could not pursue an enemy.  The red signified the blood of Jesus Christ who came to save all who took refuge in him.  People who passed through the red doors were safe.  Today the doors continue to provide safety and refuge to all who enter.

I was so excited when I finally found one, that I sent Mindy a text to tell her!  And bonus…I actually found two right beside each other.  This one was my favorite.

12 responses

  1. I saved that text because it made me crack up laughing 🙂 so glad you finally found some red doors and this is such a beautiful photo! Love the framing and the holly leaves off to the side with little bursts of red. Excellent!

    January 29, 2011 at 11:30 PM

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Day 232 – Finally! Red Doors! « All I've Got is a Photograph… -- Topsy.com

  3. It’s beautiful. I love everything about this picture. I didn’t know the significance of the red doors…thanks for sharing it. Hmmm, I wonder if there are red doors on any of the churches around here. Mindy may have started a movement 🙂

    January 30, 2011 at 7:47 AM

  4. Tammy

    Loving this Bonnie…the huge splash of red among the monotones is outstanding! A definite framer! 🙂

    January 30, 2011 at 10:28 AM

  5. Didn’t know that about red doors, but I took a photo of a church door when I was in Conn. and I think it was red, will have to check and see. Why yes it is, I’m going to keep my eyes open for that in the future.

    February 1, 2011 at 9:39 PM

  6. BTW, I just saw Secretariat this past weekend and LOVED it!!! What a great movie!!

    February 1, 2011 at 9:45 PM

  7. I did not know that about the red doors on a church. I love the way the blossoms on the nearby vine accent the doors in your photo. Makes a great composition! We loved Secretariat too!

    February 2, 2011 at 12:31 AM

  8. Mike

    Yes, I love the evergreens fronting the stone…it goes well with the door! Thanks for the mini-lesson too!

    February 2, 2011 at 7:33 PM

  9. Pingback: Significance of Red Doors in a Church « 3 Quarters Today

  10. Pingback: Significance of Red Doors in a Church | 3 Quarters Today3 Quarters Today

Leave a comment